Learn how to get through the different stages of grief


Learn how to get through the different stages of grief

Grieving is an emotional and psychological process usually associated with the loss of a loved one. Although less frequently, it can also be experienced in other situations like the end of a relationship, the loss of a job or the death of a pet. It is without a doubt a painful phase in our lives. However, it is something completely natural and necessary to deal with the pain of a loss.

In order to overcome the grieving process in a healthy way, we first need to know how to properly identify all its stages. According to the work of psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, there are five stages of grief, each represented by specific emotions and moods. Let's understand this process a little better:

1. Denial

The first reaction that is often observed in people who have just learned of the loss of a loved one is denial. In addition to being a defense mechanism, this behavior serves as a gradual introduction to the painful truth that will eventually be accepted by the person who is grieving.

2. Anger

The second stage of grief is characterized by anger. After accepting the sad truth, the person begins to manifest feelings of guilt, defenselessness and frustration, which leave them in a state of despair and outrage at the event. There then follows a period of rebellious and possibly self-destructive thoughts and/or behaviors. After its end, the person will be ready for the next phase of grief.

3. Negotiation

In this stage, the person tries to find a balance between the situation before the loss and the one in which they find themselves currently. To do this, they resort to thoughts like “what if I had…” to which the other part of their thought tries to respond “you couldn't have avoided what happened”.

4. Depression

After the negotiation moment, the time comes when the person begins to honestly face reality, leaving what happened behind. This is where the characteristic sadness of the entire grieving process comes in. This feeling can last for weeks, or even months, depending on the person and the way they handle the whole process.

5. Acceptance

Finally, comes the acceptance phase. As the name implies, this is the moment when the person finally manages to come to terms with reality. At this point, they are able to talk about their loss in a calmer and more prolonged way. In addition, they might even be able to seek specialized support to better deal with their pain.


We will all go through a grieving process. And that will never be easy to do. However, we must know that this is a natural and necessary process for us to be able to deal with our pain in a healthy way.

Go Back